The funeral

For what did i expect; the mood was drear, the tone of silence, the emotion lack
I couldn’t even find my best outfit on the clearance rack.
Many came but really few did care,
Truth be told, this day loyalty and sincerity is rare.
That what I saw when I went to the funeral today.
Many couldn’t say who she had become, all that they knew was who she was,
They didnt see the hurt or the pain, when asked why all they could say was just cause.
The parlor was full of everyone’s opinions and such,
But all the chairs were empty and alone, i could already see that much
That is what I saw when I went to the funeral today.
The music was planned, and the flowers were picked,
All and all, even the raw emotions I could not restrict.
Slowly, I began to shed a tear for a girl i once knew,
A girl that was alone, miserable and always really blue.
That is what I saw when I went to the funeral today.
The prosession played out and eventually the last one retired,
I went to pay my respects to the girl who held so much desire
I didnt know what to say and i didnt know what to feel,
It was in that moment that the awareness became so real.
That is what I saw when I went to the funeral today.
I played out all things, the works tumbling in my head,
Reason and rhymes, versions and narratives I could have said.
Ways I could have helped, impressions in which I could have done.
But, all in all, really all I ever did was dissemble and run.
That is what I saw when I went to the funeral today
She’d acknowledge every pain, endure every hurt, take to heart every scar,
That little girl was led on for way to long, for way to far.
She fell and she fell til she thought she never rise,
That is when you see, the little girl was in for the surprise.
That is what I saw when i went to the funeral today
A smile on her face, and a chill of laughter filled the air,
Once and for all, she would realize on who her burdens she could bear.
She found a friend who would ascend in and pick up the torch,
And take her out to the rocking chair she had sitting on her porch
And, that is what I saw when I went to the funeral today
This girl begin to rely on a wounded warrior, her friend,
Someone she knew that would be with her until very end.
Someone who would hold her up, and would help her out,
Someone who knew what carrying a cross was all about.
That is what I saw when I went to the funeral today
You dont see what i got to see at the funeral that day,
I was the little girl who who would finally say.
I give my life up for my best friend indeed,
Cause my friend was Jesus and He was all that i would need
That is what I saw when i went to the funeral that day
I was ready to lay my life down, no matter what the cost
Cause i would find everything, just when i thought all was lost
Jesus gave up everything to save a girl like me,
And, even when I didn’t know, He made sure that He would see

that is what i saw when i went to the funeral today

Leave a Reply

